Patanjali’s eight paths of Yoga 3 = Asana

Traditional Yoga, as set out by Patanjali in his Yoga sutras, consists of eight ‘paths’. The first five are called  bahiranga sadhana (external aids to Yoga), and the last three are called antaranga sadhana (internal aids to Yoga).

The third path is asana, this is the most familair path to those in the Western world who associate Yoga with the postures.

Asanas can be divided into three categories

  • Meditative
  • Cultural
  • Relaxation

Meditative postures are designed to ensure the spine is straight and the lower body is stable. The meditative postures are developed to minimise fidgeting and distractions.

Cultural postures stretch and strengthen the body in all directions. Preparing the body and the  mind for meditation and relaxation.

Relaxation postures are intended to enable the whole body to relax and feel at rest. They allow the body and the mind to feel peace and quiet.

The postures fall into the following broad types based on the anatomical focus:

  • Standing
  • Sitting
  • Prone
  • Supine
  • Twisting
  • Balancing
  • Side bends
  • Forward bends
  • Backwards bends
  • Arm balances
  • Inversions

Traditional Yoga postures are often named after animals and characters in hindu mythology such as:

The fourth path, pranayama, is often integral to the practice of asana and I will outline this in my next post.

This entry was posted in Article, Philosophy, Student resources, Teaching resources, Traditional Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s